Pediatric Specialties, Sub-specialties, and Divisions
Department of Pediatrics

Department of Pediatrics

The Department of Pediatrics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is proud to take on the roles of educators of both the current and next generation of health care providers, providers of cutting edge clinical care, as researchers unlocking the doors to new knowledge and advocates for our society's most precious asset — our children.

Pediatrics Highlights

Alex Foster, MD, MPH and Daniel Hale, MD Receive Funding Through the Clinical Investigator Kickstart Pilot Program

Jay N. Shah, DO, MPHAlex Foster, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics with co-investigators Deborah Parra-Medina, PhD, MPH (IHPR), Daniel Hale, MD (Pediatrics), and Paula Winkler, MEd (South Central AHEC) have been awarded through the Clinical Investigator Kickstart (CLIK) Pilot Program for their project: Identifying Patient-Centered Outcomes for Early Childhood Obesity Intervention.

You can see more of Dr. Foster's work with childhood obesity in his PEDS Talk presentation.


Andrew Meyer, MD, MS Publishes Article in PubMed

Jay N. Shah, DO, MPHArticle Title: Electron Microscopy as a Tool for Assessment of Anticoagulation Strategies During Extracorporeal Life Support: The Proof Is on the Membrane ASAIO J. 2016 Sep-Oct;62(5):525-32.





Dr. Jane Lynch Article in American Diabetes Association's - Diabetes Care Journal

Jay N. Shah, DO, MPHUTHCSA Professor of Pediatrics in Endocrinology, Jane Lynch's, MD article, Youth-Onset Type 2 Diabetes Consensus Report: Current Status, Challenges, and Priorities is accepted for publication in the September edition of Diabetes Care — the leading source for the latest research in diabetes treatment, care, and prevention.



Lizette Gomez, MD and the Peds Clinic Team Celebrate A Donation to Reach Out and Read

Pediatric Residency Graduates Featured on AAP National Conference Video

Lizette Gomez, MD, presents Aaron Gonzalez with a birthday cake

10 year old Aaron Gonzalez wanted to do something special for children in hospitals. He raised money and donated it to Reach Out and Read, a program that distributes books to children in the University Hospital System. Dr. Gomez, clinic physicians, nurses, and staff made the event one to remember! Read more at UTHSCSA News.

LINK: Aaron’s books

IMAGES: Image 1 | Image 2 | Image 3